Brochure on Women Engineers Awards Function

CEAI successfully celebrated the National Award Ceremony for Women Engineers on 18th February 2016 at Raunaq Hall of PHD Chamber of Commerce and Industry, New Delhi. About 100 engineers most of them women from various organizations and a number of guests including media participated in this Ceremony.

The Award function was inaugurated by Mr R K Mathur, IAS, Ex Defense Secretary and Chief Information Commissioner, Chief Guest who praised the effort of CEAI in commissioning a well thought competition to encourage women engineers to come on forefront.

Mr K S Popli, CMD, IREDA was the Guest of Honour who recalled how with time women decided to enter in the engineering field which was earlier considered only for men.

Ms Seema Jain, Haldor Topsoe delivered the Keynote address about increasing prominence of women engineers on national scene.

Other dignitaries on the dias were

  • Mr Sudhir Dhawan, President -CEAI
  • Dr S Chatterjee, Chairman Awards Committee
  • Dr Sudhir Krishna, Chairman of Jury and Ex Secretary Govt. of India

who respectively gave (i) Introductory remarks on national women engineers award conceived by CEAI, (ii) the type of awards announced by CEAI and (iii) precise evaluable criteria and unanimous decision of Jury in selecting the candidates.

Based on above, following were declared winners.

Ms Neerja Mathur, Ex-Chairperson CEA                    – Lifetime Achievement Award

Ms Archana Gupta, Head E&I, Penta India                – Sherpa Award

Ms Dipika Munday, Lead (Civil),Mott MacDonald   – Runner up for Sherpa Award

Ms D Geethalakshmi, Project Manager, TCE              –  Runner up for Sherpa Award


             Ms Neerja Mathur, Ex-Chairperson CEA, receiving Life Time Achievement Award


                             Ms Archana Gupta, Head E&I, Penta India, receiving Sherpa Award


                        Ms D Geethalakshmi, Project Manager, TCE, Runner-up for Sherpa Award


                 Ms Dipika Munday, Lead (Civil),Mott MacDonald,  Runner up for Sherpa Award

The Awards consisting of Silver Shield, a Citation and Certificate were jointly distributed by Mr R K Mathur, Dr Sudhir Krishna and Mr K S Popli to the above winners.


                                           Dignitaries on the dias during the Award Ceremony

Ms Neerja Mathur- Lifetime Achievement awardee shared her experience with participants as how being a woman she won various hurdles through her proactive approach.

The function was concluded with a vote of thanks by Ms Sayona Philip, Chairperson Women Council.

Preceding the Award Ceremony, a Panel Discussion was organized at 5.00 pm with Mr Sudhir Dhawan, President CEAI as moderator.

The panel discussion was quite informative in which panelists Mr K K Kapila, CMD, ICT deliberated on Taxation and Rating of Consultants, Dr Uddesh Kohli, Chairman, ECI on Engineers Bill, Dr G V R Raju, Director, AECOM on Business Opportunities and Ms Geetu Shukla, Head-HR, Ramboll on Manpower Challenges.


                                                                                     View of the Panelists

The panel discussions generated wide spread interests and participants appreciated well thought strategy of calling experts from various organizations.

Seeking the success of the Ceremony there was loud suggestion that February 18 be declared as ‘Women Engineers Day’. The proposal was accepted by all present in the ceremony.

The master of ceremony of the programme was Mr Somenath Ghosh, Honorary Secretary-CEAI and due to his able control the ceremony started dot at 5.00 pm and concluded at 7.00 pm as per schedule.


                                                       View of the award winners and other dignitaries


                                                                              A view of the participants
  • Presentation by Young Professional Members on the projects they are currently undertaking


  • Presentations on Site Visits


  • Award for Young Professionals



Member Connect

Member Directory